Slideshow image
Save to your Calendar

The Stations of the Cross service includes readings, meditation, and prayers on the traditional fourteen Stations of the Cross.

The liturgy known as the Stations of the Cross began in Jerusalem at an early date, as pilgrims retraced the journey of Jesus from the Praetorium to the hill that had been identified as Calvary. It was popularized throughout Europe in the Middle Ages, as the devout imitated with visual reminders – either paintings or carvings – this same route from the trial to the cross.

The earlier forms of the liturgy were further developed by the Franciscans to the current tradition of fourteen stations. Some of the stations are based on scriptural passages, others on traditions invented for the devotions of the Church.